Contact Us: 400-6200-333 中文|English Academic calendar

The EAL Department (English as an Additional Language) conducts scientific testing services among students to form an overview of students’ language capacities in all areas, providing reference for a tailored training curriculum.

To upper-school students (Upper 5th - Upper 6th), EAL offers a wide range of exam training courses such as preparatory and advanced courses for IETLS, TOEFL and SAT. Our experienced staff, small class size, academic tracking and innovative training curriculum contribute towards our consistent training results. So far there are many successful cases in which students have scored above 8.0 in IELTS and 110 in TOEFL.

EAL has incorporated advanced language labs and internationally recognised cognitive testing into the teaching process, which help parents follow the progress of student capabilities. The EAL staff, having graduated from world-renowned universities, are all qualified professionals in TESOL and NTC whose theoretical and practical experiences provide firm assurance to school-wide English learning.

Answer to Parents’ Concern

Chinese students attending an international school are suddenly placed in an English-speaking environment. will they have issues adapting due the language barrier?

The answer is yes, and the disorientation could last for 3 to 6 months.

Then, how does Malvern College Qingdao help students transit from the traditional Chinese education to the UK education system?

MCQ has established a language center focusing on the teaching of EAL (English As Additional Language). The EAL curriculum system is self-developed, covering vocabulary, reading, writing, listening and speaking. It has a special emphasis on reading so that students get to immerse in the Western culture. Courses are tuned to aim at each individual student’s weakest spot. Moreover, the language center conducts test-paper analysis every year to establish a long-term effective tracking mechanism. In order to make a good connection with other subjects, EAL has adopted a stratified test program which provides scientific and meaningful insights into placement of students.

入学咨询: 400-6200-333 校历

语言课程四大职能

语言水平测试 语言培养 专业课程衔接 TOEFL、IELTS、SAT课程辅导

墨尔文语言中心通过对于入学学生语言水平的科学测评,形成对学生语言各项能力的全面评估,合理衔接中心开展的语言强化课程。

在对应初中(L4-L5)阶段,通过开设听说、读写、词汇及阅读课程,帮助学生打造坚实的语言基础,并融合IGCSE各学科英语内容,以帮助学生尽快适应我校的纯英文教学课堂。

在对应高中(U5-U6)阶段,语言中心提供了IELTS和TOEFL的预备及冲刺课程和SAT课程辅导。通过高分名师小班化教学、严格的学术跟踪汇报和成熟的校本体系,帮助学生逐步达到国外一流大学申请的语言要求。目前已有多名学生取得了雅思8.0分以上及单科满分的高分,托福也有多名学生达到了110分以上。

该中心拥有先进的语言实验教学设备和巨资引进的阅读和认知能力测试系统,帮助学生和家长及时了解并追踪学生各项能力发展。语言中心的教师团队均毕业于海内外名校,均持有TESOL及高级中学教师资格证书,为我校英语教学提供了强有力的保障。

答家长问

中国学生就读国际学校,突然被放到一个全英文的环境,是否会因为语言产生不适应?

会的,而且这种语言的不适应会持续三到六个月。

那么,青岛墨尔文中学是如何让学生顺利完成从传统教育到英式教育的过度的呢?

青岛墨尔文中学设立了以教授EAL(English As Additional Language)课程为主的语言中心。EAL课程体系均为自主研发,从读写课,词汇课,再到文化侵染课,强化阅读课,每门课都极具针对性,做到对学生弱项逐个击破。而且,语言中心每年都会做试卷分析,建立长期有效的追踪机制。为了与其他学科教学做好衔接,语言中心特别采用了一套分层测试方案,该方案对分班非常有意义,做到科学合理化分班。